Welcome to the OLLI interest group page, and check out the list of our groups below. If you’re not already an OLLI member, click here to join. Your donation of $60.00 for joining OLLI also allows you to participate in any number of interest groups (check with leader of any group about space available).  

Special Interest Group Newsletter.  Click here to download a pdf.

Any questions? See below for more information, following the list, or contact the interest group coordinator, Ginna Holcombe, at 831-689-9503 or GGoGetter@sbcglobal.net. If you have any problems viewing the list, expand your window to the full size of your display and you should be able to see all of it easily. Current list version: 02/14/2020. 

Interest Group Activities Meets Leader(s) Phone Email
Adventuring Excursions outside SC county contact leader Kathryn Nance 332-8051 momokat13@gmail.com
American History & Lit ** New insights and revisions 4th Monday 10:30 am

Virginia Law

Ken Burson

425-5453

475-2121

veelaw29@gmail.com

kenlburson@gmail.com

Aptos Reading Group Fiction & non-fiction 4th Mon 1pm, Aptos Library Judy McNeely 600-6382 judybookdoc@collegepathfinders.com
Art & Architecture Visit places local & SF Bay contact leader

Lois Widom

423-0184      

lowidom@yahoo.com     

The Atlantic Readers Discuss of Last Edition TBD

Billl Patterson

479-3729

wilderwill@comcast.net

Bagel Ladies  ** Find & communicate wisdom Tue 10:30am Mary McKane 400-8799 omforest9@gmail.com
Baroque Festival Attend concerts & lectures contact leader David Copp 708-2206 dhcopp@yahoo.com
Basketball Women Practice, play, laugh See here for times and locations Sally Grey 325-0451 Saligrey@mac.com
Biographical Fiction Literary story-telling 1st Thurs 1 - 2:30 pm Jan Mintz 714-719 0694 musicmintz@gmail.com
Bridge Live Oak Senior Center Mon 1pm Jo Anne Dlott 688-1607 jjdlott@gmail.com
Concept Exchange Society ** Exchange world views 1st Sun 10:30am Peter Marks 464-8300 peter@designinsight.com
Cultural Cooking Share International Lunches 3rd Thur 12:30pm Irene Lennox 457-2690 irenefraetroon@gmail.com
Current Affairs I Current affairs 3rd Wed noon Mark Gordon 408-314-4802 mgordon@cruzio.com
Digital Photography Critiques, shoots, & trips 4th Mon 1:30pm Cindy Margolin crmargol@gmail.com
Dining Out Different local restaurants 3rd Tue at 6:30pm Diane Zacher 786-9550 dianezacher@gmail.com
3rd Wed at 6:30pm Kathy Hatfield 431-3587 b40mom@gmail.com
English in Action Talk with foreign students Contact leader Annette Morris 310-375-2091 annettemorris45@gmail.com
Evening Book Discussion ** Fiction & non-fiction books

1st Wed 7pm 

Dusty Miller 426-0835 hndmiller@hotmail.com
Explore Santa CruzCounty  Walks around city & county Contact Leader Kathryn Nance 332-8051 momokat13@gmail.com
Sue Myers 818-6450 suemyers85@gmail.com
Folk Singing On Hiatus 1st & 3rd Tues 1 pm  Lou Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com
French for French Speakers ** Only French  2nd Mon 1:30pm to 3:00pm

Beatrice Barbakow

661-5444 bbarjac@gmail.com
Future of Capitalism How will Capitalism End

1st Tues  1:30pm 

Barry Bowman 423-1450 bbowman@ucsc.edu
Great Books I** The classics 1st Thr 1:15pm Faye Alexander 476-8575 qtpie95010@gmail.com
Great Books II** Essays, stories, poems, plays 1st Wed noon Zoom Meet Susan Gorsky 688-5371 sgorsky@sbcglobal.net
Great Decisions World affairs

Mon 10am 

2/27 to 4/24 2023

Joya Chatterjee

Gaby Litsky

458-9008

462-9023

 

glitsky@aol.com

Lunchtime Dining Out Occasional local lunches Hiatus Irene Lennox 457-2690 irenefraetroon@gmail.com
Mahjong 4 people/game TBD Ginna Holcombe 689-9503 gogetter9503@gmail.com
Memoir Writing I Write, read, listen, discuss 4th Thr 1pm Richard Bruce 427-7334 richard.bruce@gmail.com
Memoir Writing II ** Write, read, listen, discuss 1st & 3rd Thur 1pm Kathryn Cowan 431-6114 kathryncowan@gmail.com
Mexican Train Dominoes TBD Marian Disperati 438-2561 raymard@pacbell.net
Navigating Retirement Develop outlook & plan Hiatus Katrina Cope 713-8440 katrina.cope@gmail.com
Nancy Calvin 466-0720 nancycalvin52@gmail.com 
New Yorker Aptos** Fiction, non-fiction, poetry Hiatus Joan Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com

New Yorker Capitola

All recent issues

4th Tue 1:30pm

Zoom Meeting

Faye Alexander

Barbara Banducci

476-8575

234-7906 

qtpie95010@gmail.com

bbanducci43@yahoo.com

New Yorker San Lorenzo Valley Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry Wed 3 to 4:30 Rhea Giroux 345-6824 rrmg@aol.com
New Yorker SC I** Short stories, essays, & poetry 3rd Wed 2pm  Dena Taylor  462-5548

denataylor22@gmail.com

New Yorker SC II Fiction, nonfiction, poetry 2nd Thur 2pm Zoom meet Helen Jones 420-1220 helenjones815@gmail.com
Newcomers Intro to OLLI As Needed Kate Erstein 454-8578 kate.erstein@gmail.com
Nonfiction East Side ** Non-fiction reading 4th Mon 1pm Fredericks St. Owen Brown 234-4903 wowenbrown@mac.com
Nonfiction Santa Cruz Non-fiction reading 4th Tue 2pm Rabia Barkins 566 4276 7rabia7@gmail.com 
Philately Club Stamp Collecting TBD Bill Patterson 479-3729 wilderwill@comcast.net
Ping Pong Dominican Oaks TBS Lois Widom 423-0184 lowidom@yahoo.com 
Puente Project Mentoring students Contact Leader

Richard Bruce

Sesario Escoto

462-1280

212-7184

richard.bruce@gmail.com

sesarioescoto@gmail.com 

Read & Socialize ** Many books, little time 4th Fri 10am Edna Elkins 455-8611 ednautah@msn.com
Read It Again, Sam Books worth reading again Hiatus Joan Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com
Reading Circle Books selected by members 3rd Mon 1:30pm Zoom Meet Irene Lennox 457-2690 irenefraetroon@gmail.com
Recorder Playing Beautiful music Tue 2:30pm Marilyn Rigler 423-2505 mprigler@gmail.com
Social Science Discussion  ** All social sciences 3rd Tues 1:00pm In Person Meeting Dusty Miller 426-0835 hndmiller@hotmail.com
Spanish Conversation Intermed language skills Alt. Wed 2 pm to 3:30 pm

Dolores McCabe

588-5195 dmccabe47@gmail.com
Spanish South Discussions in Spanish

1st & 3rd Weds 3 to 4:30 pm

Peter Andrews

688 3545 peterandrews2000@hotmail.com
Sustainabiility Research and Present topics 3rd Tues 3pm  Zoom Mark Folsom 601-3770 mffolsom@gmail.com
TED Talks Ted based discussion Hiatus Constantine Lackides 310-505-6900 cnlackides@gmail.com
Tennis doubles Intermediate, no partner required Tue & Thur 10:00am David Brick 325-7380 dbrick@cruzio.com
Theatricks Games, methods, history 1st Sun 10am to 12pm Dom Oaks Margot Hoffman 295-4144 margothoffman@gmail.com 
Travel Treasures Slide sharing, talks, discussion

Th 1pm London Nelsom.  March 2023

Joya Chatterjee

Gaby Litsky

458-9008

462-9023

 

glitsky@aol.com

Walking Local forests & seashores Wed 9:30am Anandi Paganini 252-8980 anandipaganini@sbcglobal.net
Wine Tasting Visit local wineries contact leader Margie Lafia mlafia56@gmail.com
Writing Genealogical History  ** Our stories or narratives 3rd Wed 1pm to 3pm Pamela Roby 247-0675 roby@ucsc.edu

** Interest Groups with this next to the title are FULL.  Contact the group leader to get on a wait list.

Interest groups are very dynamic and keep changing. Here is a list of inactive groups, that are not meeting at this time: Creative Writing, Culture Vultures, Genealogy, Play Reading, Pre-Columbia, Santa Cruz History, Still Life Drawing, Mahjong, Opera, Meditation, Envisioning the Future, Santa Cruz Symphony, Beliefs Acceptance, Classical Chinese Literature, Healthcare, New Yorker Covers and Cartoons, Science Fiction, Food and Health, Santa Cruz Infrastructure, Kayaking, Wooden Toys, Amateur Chamber Music, Eastern Spirituality, Discovering UCSC. An example of the range of interests, and also possible ideas for new groups in the future.

Some interest groups are large, like Art & Architecture, which visits museums, galleries, and public buildings all over the Bay Area. Others are smaller to allow members to pursue activities such as creative writing and photography, or to participate in discussions. We also encourage members to form new interest groups and new sections of existing interest groups. To form a new group you just need a proposal and approval from the OLLI Board, very simple.

Group leaders are free to structure and schedule their group as they and the participants wish. Just check with the leader if space is available within any group, and for further information. You can ask to be on a waiting list if the group is full, or consider starting another group. We have many New Yorker groups, always room for another group on any subject.

Our Interest Group Program is unusual among all the Osher Lifelong Learning Institutes because most mainly offer courses (sometimes quite expensive) taught by paid instructors through university extension departments. Although our courses are wide-ranging, popular, and invaluable, the heart of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at UCSC continues to be our peer-led groups, which give our members the opportunity to take part in discussions and activities of interest.

One of the goals of OLLI at UCSC is to raise scholarship money for transfer and re-entry students, including military veterans. Both interest group leaders and the volunteer instructors of our wonderful classes are motivated to help raise funds for our scholarship program. Our Osher Foundation grant can be used for our OLLI expenses, but cannot be used for student scholarships.