Welcome to the OLLI interest group page, and check out the list of our groups below. If you’re not already an OLLI member, click here to join. Your donation of $60.00 for joining OLLI also allows you to participate in any number of interest groups (check with leader of any group about space available).

Any questions? See below for more information, following the list, or contact the interest group coordinator, Ginna Holcombe, at 831-689-9503 or GGoGetter@sbcglobal.net. If you have any problems viewing the list, expand your window to the full size of your display and you should be able to see all of it easily. Current list version: 6/20/2018. 

Interest Group Activities Meets Leader(s) Phone Email
Adventuring Excursions outside SC contact coordinator Kathryn Nance 425-4569 momokat13@gmail.com
American History & Lit ** New insights and revisions 4th Monday 10:30 am

Virginia Law

Mark Ordway

425-5453

295-2542

veelaw29@gmail.com

meordway@gmail.com

Aptos Non-Fiction Non-fiction reading 2nd Mon 1pm Frederick St. Judy McNeely 600-6382 judybookdoc@collegepathfinders.com
Aptos Reading Group Fiction & non-fiction 2nd Thr 1pm, Aptos Library Judy McNeely 600-6382 judybookdoc@collegepathfinders.com
Art — Painting Studio & outdoors contact leader Gayla Pius 239-1834 gaylapius@gmail.com
Art & Architecture Visit places local & SF Bay contact leader

Lois Widom Peter Poriss

423-0184      408-274-6766

lowidom@yahoo.com     

petermartin408@gmail.com

Baroque Festival Attend concerts & lectures contact leader David Copp 708-2206 dhcopp@yahoo.com
Basketball Women Practice, play & laugh Mon 9 am Mary Caravalho 332-2361 marycaravalho@gmail.com
Biographical Fiction Literary story telling 1st Thurs 1 - 2:30 pm Jan Mintz 714-719 0694 musicmintz@gmail.com
Bridge Live Oak Senior Center Mon 1pm Jo Anne Dlott 688-1607 jjdlott@gmail.com
Concept Exchange Society ** Exchange world views 1st Sun 10:30am Peter Marks 464-8300 peter@designinsight.com
Current Affairs I Current affairs 3rd Wed noon Mark Gordon 408-314-4802 mgordon@cruzio.com
Current Affairs II Current affairs 3rd Mon noon Constantine Lackides 706-2202 cnlackides@gmail.com
Digital Photography Critiques, shoots, & trips 4th Mon 1:30pm Cindy Margolin 688-8129 crmargol@gmail.com
Dining Out Different local restaurants 3rd Tue at 6:30pm Diane Zacher 786-9550 dianezacher@gmail.com
3rd Wed at 6:30pm Kathy Hatfield 426-6399 b40mom@gmail.com
Docu/Wonks Discuss films re-creative people 2nd Sat at 1:30pm Peter Martin PeterAtOlli@gmail.com
Ears in Action Help UC students with papers contact leader Florence Orenstein 427-2380 santacruzflos@aol.com
English in Action Talk with foreign students contact leader Karin Grobe 427-0984 kgrobe@wormdoctor.org
Evening Book Discussion Fiction & non-fiction books 1st Wed 7pm Dusty Miller 426-0835 hndmiller@hotmail.com
Explore Santa CruzCounty  Walks around city & county 3rd Fri 10am Kathryn Nance 425-4569 momokat13@gmail.com
Sue Myers 818-6450 suemyers85@gmail.com
Favorite Flicks Introduce, Watch, Discuss Films 3rd Wed 5:00pm Bill Patterson 479-3729 wilderwill@comcast.net
Financial Education Financial strategies 2nd Wed 10am Steve Edmonds 338-3106 steve2rr@gmail.com
Folk Songs ** Group sing 1st & 3rd Tue 1:00pm Lou Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com
French for French Speakers Only French (Starts in Oct) 1st Tue 10:30am Richard Zakarian 713-5798 rzakarian@csun.edu
Future of Capitalism How will Capitalism End TBD by group Barry Bowman 459-2245 bbowman@ucsc.edu
Great Books I** The classics 1st Thr 1:15pm Faye Alexander 476-8575 qtpie95010@gmail.com
Great Books II** Essays, stories, poems, plays 1st Wed noon Susan Gorsky 688-5371 sgorsky@sbcglobal.net
Great Decisions World affairs, 9 wks in March/Apr 10 am Mon 9wks

Joya Chatterjee

Gaby Litsky

458-9008

462-9023

joya_chatterjee@yahoo.com

glitsky@aol.com

Horticulture Work on plantings at Cabrillo Thr 10:00am Pat McVeigh 566-4553 pmcveigh@baymoon.com
Let's Talk Sports Review week's sports events TBD by group Larry Novick (949) 306 8758 pay4lar@aol.com
Lunchtime Dining Out Occasional local lunches contact leader Irene Lennox 457-2690 irenefraetroon@gmail.com
Making of an Elder Culture Find & communicate wisdom Tue 10:30am Mary McKane mmckane9@me.com
Memoir Writing I Write, read, listen, discuss 4th Thr 1pm Joyce Burt 464-3470 sandplay@ix.netcom.com
Memoir Writing II Write, read, listen, discuss TBD by group Kathryn Cowan 431-6114 kathycowan43@yahoo.com
Natural History Learn about the Natural World TBD

Jeff Manker

763-0725

fireweed8@gmail.com

Navigating Retirement Develop outlook & plan On hiatus until Fall 2019 Katrina Cope 713-8440 katrina.cope@gmail.com
Nancy Calvin 466-0720 nancycalvin52@gmail.com 
New Yorker Aptos** Fiction, non-fiction, poetry alt. Thr 2pm Joan Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com

New Yorker 

Capitola

All recent issues 4th Tue 1:30pm

Faye Alexander

Barbara Banducci

476-8575

 

qtpie95010@gmail.com

bbanducci43@yahoo.com

New Yorker Santa Cruz I** Short stories, essays, & poetry 3rd Wed 2pm Peggy Williams 476-2965 pegwil.atty@gmail.com
New Yorker Santa Cruz II** Fiction, non-fiction, poetry 2nd Thr 2pm Helen Jones 420-1220 helenjones815@gmail.com
Newcomers Welcome into OLLI As Needed Kate Erstein 454-8578 kate.erstein@gmail.com
Non-Fiction West Side  ** Non-fiction reading 4th Tue 2pm Mary Caravalho 332-2361 marycaravalho@gmail.com
Puente Project Mentoring students Contact Leader

Richard Bruce

Sesario Escoto

462-1280

212-7184

richard.bruce@gmail.com

sesarioescoto@gmail.com 

Read & Socialize ** Many books, little time 4th Fri 10am Edna Elkins 462-1280 ednautah@msn.com
Read It Again, Sam  ** Books worth reading again 4th Wed 1pm Joan Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com
Reading Circle Books selected by members 3rd Mon 1:30pm Irene Lennox 457-2690 irenefraetroon@gmail.com
Recorder Playing Beautiful music Tue 2:30pm Mary Ann Franson mfranson@cruzio.com
Short Stories Great American stories Alt. Tues 12:30 - 2 pm Kathryn Cowan 431-6114 kathycowan43@yahoo.com
Social Science Discussion  ** All the social sciences 3rd Tue 12:30pm Dusty Miller 426-0835 hndmiller@hotmail.com
Spanish Conversational Alt. Thur 2 pm to 3:30 pm

Dolores McCabe

588-5195 dmccabe47@gmail.com
Tennis (doubles) Intermediate level, partner not required Tue 1:30pm & Thr 10am David Brick 325-7380 dbrick@cruzio.com
Visiting Not-For-Profits Visit community organizations contact leader Gabrielle Stocker 426-0865 gstocker2@cruzio.com
Walking Local forests & seashores Wed 9:30am Alice Tarail 334-3328 alicet@cruzio.com
What If Review past choices for future 1st Fri 10am Phil Lynch 426-1837 what.if.alternative.history@gmail.com
Wine Tasting Visit local wineries contact leader Margie Lafia mlafia56@gmail.com
Writing Genealogical History Our stories or narratives 1st & 3rd Wed 3:00pm Pamela Roby 247-0675 roby@ucsc.edu
Cynthia Solem 239-3033 cysole@yahoo.com

** Interest Groups with this next to the title are FULL.  Contact the group leader to get on a wait list.

Interest groups are very dynamic and keep changing. Here is a list of inactive groups, that are not meeting at this time: Creative Writing, Culture Vultures, Genealogy, Play Reading, Pre-Columbia, Santa Cruz History, Still Life Drawing, Mahjong, Opera, Meditation, Envisioning the Future, Santa Cruz Symphony, Beliefs Acceptance, Classical Chinese Literature, Healthcare, New Yorker Covers and Cartoons, Science Fiction, Food and Health, Santa Cruz Infrastructure, Kayaking, Wooden Toys, Amateur Chamber Music, Eastern Spirituality, Discovering UCSC. An example of the range of interests, and also possible ideas for new groups in the future.

Some interest groups are large, like Art & Architecture, which visits museums, galleries, and public buildings all over the Bay Area. Others are smaller to allow members to pursue activities such as creative writing and photography, or to participate in discussions. We also encourage members to form new interest groups and new sections of existing interest groups. To form a new group you just need a proposal and approval from the OLLI Board, very simple.

Group leaders are free to structure and schedule their group as they and the participants wish. Just check with the leader if space is available within any group, and for further information. You can ask to be on a waiting list if the group is full, or consider starting another group. We have many New Yorker groups, always room for another group on any subject.

Our Interest Group Program is unusual among all the Osher Lifelong Learning Institutes because most mainly offer courses (sometimes quite expensive) taught by paid instructors through university extension departments. Although our courses are wide-ranging, popular, and invaluable, the heart of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at UCSC continues to be our peer-led groups, which give our members the opportunity to take part in discussions and activities of interest.

One of the goals of OLLI at UCSC is to raise scholarship money for transfer and re-entry students, including military veterans. Both interest group leaders and the volunteer instructors of our wonderful classes are motivated to help raise funds for our scholarship program. Our Osher Foundation grant can be used for our OLLI expenses, but cannot be used for student scholarships.