Welcome to the OLLI interest group page, and check out the list of our groups below. If you’re not already an OLLI member, click here to join. Your donation of $60.00 for joining OLLI also allows you to participate in any number of interest groups (check with leader of any group about space available).

Any questions? See below for more information, following the list, or contact the interest group coordinator, Ginna Holcombe, at 831-689-9503 or GGoGetter@sbcglobal.net. If you have any problems viewing the list, expand your window to the full size of your display and you should be able to see all of it easily. Current list version: 02/14/2020. 

Interest Group Activities Meets Leader(s) Phone Email
Adventuring Excursions outside SC county contact leader Kathryn Nance 332-8051 momokat13@gmail.com
All Things Classical - Talks by music directors 3rd Fri 10am-12pm Jay Stoffer 310-923-3099 jaystoffer8@gmail.com 
American History & Lit ** New insights and revisions 4th Monday 10:30 am

Virginia Law

Mark Ordway

425-5453

295-2542

veelaw29@gmail.com

meordway@gmail.com

Aptos Reading Group Fiction & non-fiction 2nd Thr 1pm, Aptos Library Judy McNeely 600-6382 judybookdoc@collegepathfinders.com
Art — Joy of Painting Studio & outdoors contact leader Gayla Pius 464-6559 gaylapius@gmail.com
Art & Architecture Visit places local & SF Bay contact leader

Lois Widom

423-0184      

lowidom@yahoo.com     

Bagel Ladies Find & communicate wisdom Tue 10:30am Mary McKane 419-4588 mmckane9@me.com
Baroque Festival Attend concerts & lectures contact leader David Copp 708-2206 dhcopp@yahoo.com
Basketball Women Practice, play, laugh Mon 9 am Holy Cross Mary Caravalho 332-2361 marycaravalho@gmail.com
Biographical Fiction Literary story-telling 1st Thurs 1 - 2:30 pm Jan Mintz 714-719 0694 musicmintz@gmail.com
Bridge Live Oak Senior Center Mon 1pm Jo Anne Dlott 688-1607 jjdlott@gmail.com
Campus Caravan DELAYED Explore UCSC Temp On Hold Mary Caravalho 332-2361 marycaravalho@gmail.com
Concept Exchange Society ** Exchange world views 1st Sun 10:30am Peter Marks 464-8300 peter@designinsight.com
Current Affairs I Current affairs 3rd Wed noon Mark Gordon 408-314-4802 mgordon@cruzio.com
Current Affairs II Current affairs 3rd Mon noon Constantine Lackides 310-505-6900 cnlackides@gmail.com
Digital Photography Critiques, shoots, & trips 4th Mon 1:30pm Cindy Margolin 688-8129 crmargol@gmail.com
Dining Out Different local restaurants 3rd Tue at 6:30pm Diane Zacher 786-9550 dianezacher@gmail.com
3rd Wed at 6:30pm Kathy Hatfield 426-6399 b40mom@gmail.com
Ears in Action Help UC students with papers contact leader

Florence Orenstein

427-2380 santacruzflos@aol.com
English in Action Talk with foreign students contact leader Karin Grobe 427-0984 karingrobe@gmail.com
Evening Book Discussion Fiction & non-fiction books

1st Wed 7pm Zoom Meet

Dusty Miller 426-0835 hndmiller@hotmail.com
Explore Santa CruzCounty  Walks around city & county Kathryn Nance 332-8051 momokat13@gmail.com
Sue Myers 818-6450 suemyers85@gmail.com
Favorite Flicks  Introduce, watch, discuss films 3rd Wed 3:00pm Bill Patterson 479-3729 wilderwill@comcast.net
Financial Education Financial strategies Suspended until 2020 Steve Edmonds 338-3106 steve2rr@gmail.com
Folk Singing Group sing 1st & 3rd Tue 1:00pm Lou Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com
French for French Speakers Only French (Starts in Oct) 1st Tue 10:30am

Beatrice Barbakow

661-5444 bbarjac@gmail.com
Future of Capitalism How will Capitalism End

4th Tues  1:00pm 

Barry Bowman 459-2245 bbowman@ucsc.edu
Great Books I** The classics 1st Thr 1:15pm Faye Alexander 476-8575 qtpie95010@gmail.com
Great Books II** Essays, stories, poems, plays 1st Wed noon Susan Gorsky 688-5371 sgorsky@sbcglobal.net
Great Decisions World affairs, Jan to Mar 2020

Mon 10 am 

1/13 to 3/9/2020

Joya Chatterjee

Gaby Litsky

458-9008

462-9023

joya_chatterjee@yahoo.com

glitsky@aol.com

Horticulture Work on plantings at Cabrillo Thr 10:00am Pat McVeigh 566-4553 pmcveigh@baymoon.com
Lunchtime Dining Out Occasional local lunches contact leader Irene Lennox 457-2690 irenefraetroon@gmail.com
Memoir Writing I Write, read, listen, discuss 4th Thr 1pm Joyce Burt 464-3470 sandplay@ix.netcom.com
Memoir Writing II ** Write, read, listen, discuss 1st & 3rd Thur 1pm Kathryn Cowan 431-6114 kathycowan43@yahoo.com
Natural History Group discussion, exploration 1st & 3rd Tues  10am

Jeff Manker

247-0902

fireweed8@gmail.com

Navigating Retirement  NEW Develop outlook & plan alternate Wed 1:00 to 2:30pm Katrina Cope 713-8440 katrina.cope@gmail.com
Nancy Calvin 466-0720 nancycalvin52@gmail.com 
New Yorker Aptos** Fiction, non-fiction, poetry alt. Thr 2pm Joan Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com

New Yorker Capitola

All recent issues 4th Tue 1:30pm

Faye Alexander

Barbara Banducci

476-8575

234-7906 

qtpie95010@gmail.com

bbanducci43@yahoo.com

New Yorker SC I** Short stories, essays, & poetry 3rd Wed 2pm Peggy Williams 476-2965 pegwil.atty@gmail.com
New Yorker SC II** Fiction, nonfiction, poetry 2nd Thur 2pm Zoom meet Helen Jones 420-1220 helenjones815@gmail.com
Newcomers Intro to OLLI As Needed Kate Erstein 454-8578 kate.erstein@gmail.com
Nonfiction East Side Non-fiction reading 2nd Mon 1pm Zoom Meet Owen Brown 234-4903 wowenbrown@mac.com
Nonfiction West Side  ** Non-fiction reading 4th Tue 2pm Mary Caravalho 332-2361 marycaravalho@gmail.com
Play Reading Cold reading: An Ideal Husband 1st Mon 2:30 pm Billie Harris 600-8315 billie@cruzio.com 
Puente Project Mentoring students Contact Leader

Richard Bruce

Sesario Escoto

462-1280

212-7184

richard.bruce@gmail.com

sesarioescoto@gmail.com 

Read & Socialize ** Many books, little time 4th Fri 10am Edna Elkins 462-1280 ednautah@msn.com
Read It Again, Sam  ** Books worth reading again 4th Wed 1pm Joan Rose 477-0360 ramblingroses@yahoo.com
Reading Circle Books selected by members 3rd Mon 1:30pm Irene Lennox 457-2690 irenefraetroon@gmail.com
Recorder Playing Beautiful music Tue 2:30pm Mary Ann Franson mfranson@cruzio.com
Short Stories ** Great American stories Alt. Tues 12:30 - 2 pm Kathryn Cowan 431-6114 kathycowan43@yahoo.com
Social Science Discussion  ** All social sciences 3rd Tues 12:30pm Zoom Meet Dusty Miller 426-0835 hndmiller@hotmail.com
Spanish Conversation ** Intermed language skills Alt. Thur 2 pm to 3:30 pm

Dolores McCabe

588-5195 dmccabe47@gmail.com
Spanish Convers Beginning Advanced beginners skills Thurs 2 pm to 3:30 pm  MAH

Helene Weil

332-0547 helene.ggd@gmail.com 
Splendor of the Sun Discussion of latest issue 2nd Wed 1:00pm Dale Zevin 818-8059 soqueldale@gmail.com 
Ted Talks Ted based discussion TBD by group Constantine Lackides 310-505-6900 cnlackides@gmail.com
Tennis doubles Intermediate, no partner required Tue 1:30pm & Thr 10am   David Brick 325-7380 dbrick@cruzio.com
Theatricks Games, methods, history 1st Sun 10am to 12pm Dom Oaks Margot Hoffman 295-4144 margothoffman@gmail.com 
Travel Treasures Slide sharing, talks, discussion Thurs 2 - 4 pm  (Nov - Dec)

Joya Chatterjee

Gaby Litsky

458-9008

462-9023

joya_chatterjee@yahoo.com

glitsky@aol.com

Visiting Not-For-Profits Visit community organizations contact leader Gabrielle Stocker 426-0865 gstocker2@cruzio.com
Walking Local forests & seashores Wed 9:30am Alice Tarail 334-3328 alicet@cruzio.com
What If Review past choices for future 1st Fri 10am Phil Lynch 426-1837 what.if.alternative.history@gmail.com
Wine Tasting Visit local wineries contact leader Margie Lafia mlafia56@gmail.com
Writing Genealogical History  ** Our stories or narratives 1st & 3rd Wed 2:00pm Pamela Roby 247-0675 roby@ucsc.edu

** Interest Groups with this next to the title are FULL.  Contact the group leader to get on a wait list.

Interest groups are very dynamic and keep changing. Here is a list of inactive groups, that are not meeting at this time: Creative Writing, Culture Vultures, Genealogy, Play Reading, Pre-Columbia, Santa Cruz History, Still Life Drawing, Mahjong, Opera, Meditation, Envisioning the Future, Santa Cruz Symphony, Beliefs Acceptance, Classical Chinese Literature, Healthcare, New Yorker Covers and Cartoons, Science Fiction, Food and Health, Santa Cruz Infrastructure, Kayaking, Wooden Toys, Amateur Chamber Music, Eastern Spirituality, Discovering UCSC. An example of the range of interests, and also possible ideas for new groups in the future.

Some interest groups are large, like Art & Architecture, which visits museums, galleries, and public buildings all over the Bay Area. Others are smaller to allow members to pursue activities such as creative writing and photography, or to participate in discussions. We also encourage members to form new interest groups and new sections of existing interest groups. To form a new group you just need a proposal and approval from the OLLI Board, very simple.

Group leaders are free to structure and schedule their group as they and the participants wish. Just check with the leader if space is available within any group, and for further information. You can ask to be on a waiting list if the group is full, or consider starting another group. We have many New Yorker groups, always room for another group on any subject.

Our Interest Group Program is unusual among all the Osher Lifelong Learning Institutes because most mainly offer courses (sometimes quite expensive) taught by paid instructors through university extension departments. Although our courses are wide-ranging, popular, and invaluable, the heart of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at UCSC continues to be our peer-led groups, which give our members the opportunity to take part in discussions and activities of interest.

One of the goals of OLLI at UCSC is to raise scholarship money for transfer and re-entry students, including military veterans. Both interest group leaders and the volunteer instructors of our wonderful classes are motivated to help raise funds for our scholarship program. Our Osher Foundation grant can be used for our OLLI expenses, but cannot be used for student scholarships.